Contact us


IUPAP grant
for women











4-th International Conference on
Unsolved Problems of Noise

and Fluctuations in Physics, Biology & High Technology

Gallipoli (Lecce), Conference Centre Grand Hotel Costa Brada, Italy, June 6 - 10, 2005

UPoN 2005 Organization

The Organizing Committee for UPoN is primarily composed of Engineering and Science Faculty members from the Lecce University with Prof. Lino Reggiani as the Conference Chair. Other members of the Organizing Committee include Prof. Cecilia Pennetta from the Science Faculty, Dr. Eleonora Alfinito from the Engineering Faculty and Dr. Maria Leuzzi from the Department of Innovation Engineering.

The Scientific Committee is formed by respected members of the Noise and Fluctuation community and is updated at any Conference in conjunction with its announcement. The duty of the Scientific Committee is to propose contributions focusing subjects under controversy and/or still open to solution (up to 3 titles and speakers for each member), and to act as referee. Contributed papers (extended abstracts up to 3 pages) will be called by the Conference and will undergo a double-blind refereeing process to promote invited, and acceptance as oral or poster.

In order to avoid parallel sessions and to ensure lively general discussions, the total number of participants will be limited to approximately 200. Social program for accompany people will be organized.

Conference Proceedings

The proceedings of the conference will be published by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) as a 6x9 inch format volume in the AIP Series of Conference Proceedings.

Conference Chairman

Prof. Lino Reggiani
Dipartimento di Ingegneria dell'Innovazione
Universita di Lecce
Edificio "La Stecca", via Arnesano
73100 Lecce
Tel: +39-0832297259
Fax: +39-0832325004

UPoN 2005 International Scientific Committee

Derek Abbott (Adelaide University, Australia)

Dean Astumian (University of Maine, USA)

Robert Austin (Cornell University, USA)

Kamal Bardhan (Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, India)

Sergey Bezrukov (National Institutes of Health, USA)

Gijs Bosman (University of Florida, USA)

Adi Bulsara (SPAWAR Systems Center, USA)

Markus Buttiker (University of Geneve, Switzerland)

Anna Carbone (Torino Polytechnic, Italy)

David Deamer (University of California, USA)

Jamal Deen (McMaster University, Canada)

Charlie Doering (University of Michigan, USA)

Christian Glattli (Physics Laboratory of Condensed Matter, France)

Peter Hanggi (University of Augsburg, Germany)

Laszlo Kish (Texas A&M University, USA)

Mikhail Levinshtein (AF Ioffe Physical Technical Institute, Russia)

Andre Longtin (University of Ottawa, Canada)

Massimo Macucci (University of Pisa, Italy)

Peter McClintock (University of Lancaster, England)

Frank Moss (University of Missouri, USA)

Nossal Ralph (National Institutes of Health, USA)

Xavier Oriols (Autonomous University of Barcelona, Spain)

Cecilia Pennetta (University of Lecce, Italy)

Lino Reggiani (University of Lecce, Italy)

Stefano Ruffo (University of Florence, Italy)

Marco Sampietro (Polytechnic of Milano, Italy)

Lutz Schimansky-Geier (Humboldt University, Germany)

Michael Shlesinger (Office of Naval Research, USA)

Eugene Stanley (Boston University, USA)

Jevgenij Starikov (Semiconductor Physics Institute, Lithuania)

Charles Stevens (Salk Institute for Biological Studies, USA)

Munecazu Tacano (Meisei University, Japan)

Lode Vandamme (University of Eindhoven, The Netherlands)

Nico Van Kampen (Institute of Theor. Physics, The Netherlands)

Luca Varani (Montpellier CNRS, France)

Michael Weissman (University of Illinois, USA)

Kurt Wiesenfeld (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)